Skip to content

Call For FREE Consultation

New York Distracted Driving Penalty

Spread the love

Have you ever seen someone eating or texting while driving? New York State is starting to crack down on this dangerous behavior. Starting November 1st, the penalty for distracted driving for anyone under the age of 21 will result in an 120 day license suspension for the first offense. If there is a second offense, the license will be suspended for one year.

Motor vehicle accidents are the number 1 cause of death for 15 to 20 year olds in the United States. Since a majority of those teens own cell phones, texting while driving is a concern for many. Other distracted driving activities include grooming, eating, drinking, talking on the phone or to passengers, and so on. In fact, anything that diverts the driver’s attention away from the road can be deemed distracted driving.

In an effort to stop distracted driving in its tracks, police officers have been stationed in unmarked vehicles off of major highways. By going incognito, it gives them a better chance of catching people who normally engage in distracted driving.

Have you or a loved one suffered an injury due to an accident? Contact Levine and Wiss. It is important that you consult an attorney as soon as possible. The sooner you call us, the better your chances of recovery will be, as we may still be able to preserve the scene where the injury occurred via photographic evidence and witness accounts. Contact us at 1-888-GOT-HURT (1-888-468-4878) for a free consultation.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.

Contact Us

contact form (5)